Posted by: mrlock | November 28, 2013

Has OFSTED Changed Since Last Month?

I heard about the anecdote here from a colleague, who has since written to me about his impression of the same training. I will blog his comments later today.

Scenes From The Battleground

Last night I did my regular trawl through recent OFSTED reports. I had written about some reports from early October here, and some from September here. For both of those two previous blogposts I had easily found OFSTED reports which showed a clear bias towards particular types of teaching despite all the claims that there is no preferred OFSTED lesson style. This time, however, looking at late October and early November inspections, I found very few such reports. Most reports were bland, talking about marking and questioning and sometimes differentiation. A few even praised explanations or subject knowledge. The usual condemnations of teacher talk and the constant promotion of “independence” were the exception not the rule.

When I mentioned this on Twitter, some of those who replied to me mentioned recent OFSTED training, which suggested a surprising and dramatic change in approach (by which I mean: doing what…

View original post 332 more words

Leave a Reply

Categories

